Skip to content


The Halifax Soil and Water Conservation District was formed in 1967, having originally been a part of the old Southside District.  As allowed by § 10.1-538 of the Code of Virginia, the District functions as a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia and is responsible for developing and implementing a program to conserve soil, water, and related resources in the 822 square miles within the boundaries of Halifax County and the town of South Boston.  The District is responsible for the administration of the Virginia Agricultural BMP Cost-Share Program, including the overseeing of compliance to practice specifications.  The District is presently governed by a seven-member board of directors comprised of local, concerned citizens who serve on a voluntary basis, without compensation.   District meetings are held the second Thursday of each month and are open to the public.

Mission Statement

To develop, to promote the proper use of, and to protect the natural resources of the District through programs of information, education and technical assistance in cooperation with other agencies.

Vision Statement

To strive to remain flexible and open-minded to accept change and face the challenges of leadership in the wise use and conservation of natural resources.

Board of Directors

  • Bobby Hall – Chairman
  • Blair Hall – Vice Chairman
  • Bruce Pearce – Director
  • Scott Hudson – Director/Treasurer
  • Rebekah Slabach – VA Cooperative Extension Appointment
  • Hudson Reese – Associate Director
  • Jason Fisher – Associate Director
  • Adam Davis – Associate Director


  • Justin Smith – Conservation Specialist & Office Coordinator                                          email:
  • Luke Hudson – Conservation Specialist                                                                          email:
  • Melissa Waller– Education & Outreach Specialist, Secretary and FOIA Officer    
Justin Smith, Luke Hudson, Melissa Waller